Corey Yardley

Dream Big

Giving my Thanks

with 2 comments


Tis Thanksgiving and I would like to dedicate this post to the things that I am most thankful for.

1.  Although there are days that I whine and complain, but I woke up today and was so grateful to be alive.  Life is too short to be pissed off, hold grudges, and to hate everything.  I am healthy mentally and physically, and sometimes I forget how lucky I am to be healthy in these two categories.  I need to remember not everyone is this lucky, so I need to use it not lose it.

2.  I am thankful for my family.

A.  Mom-  You continue to support me, whether I am up or down.  You showed me how life would be without you, and as cliche as it sounds-  I felt like apart of me was missing.  You are my best friend and our relationship is unique, unlike any other a child has with their parent.  Let’s continue through our struggles, back-to-back, like we always have.  You work so damn hard, it’s Thanksgiving and you’re working from 7:00 AM to 11:00 PM.  I can’t wait for the day that I ink our saga, and sell millions of copies.  I promise you that some day I’m going to buy you a car, take you on a vacation, and give you beautiful grandchildren (I hope the first two come soon, don’t worry you won’t be a grandma anytime soon ha!)  You’re amazing, and when you asked me, “Corey, who do you idolize?  Who do you look up to?”  I meant it when I said, “You Mom”.

B.  Cullen-  I don’t know what you see when you look at me.  I read a paper that you wrote for school, it was like a mini-biography.  In the essay you listed all of your siblings; Joel’s kids, Trent, Kaela, and then me.  You said that none were actually full siblings, and you are correct biologically speaking, but for some reason my heart completely sunk.  You probably think I’m a loser (and you could be onto something), but it seems like yesterday when you were my baby brother.  You were my shadow, you always wanted to play, learn, ANYTHING just to hang with me.  I wish I could have saved each time I rejected you because I would use them all the time.  To be honest it really is my fault that we aren’t very close.  It’s my fault you don’t look up to me, because there’s not much to look up to.  But I want you to know I would never consider you anything less than my brother, I am thankful for watching you grow into the young man you are today.  Like I said, I don’t know what you see in me and I don’t want my words to change that, but I want you to know what I see in you.  I see a hard-working, handsome, and loving individual.  I see an exceptional athlete, whether it’s football, basketball, track, golf, or baseball, you have the potential to be the best, because when your head is high and you believe in yourself you shine.  But when your head is down and your confidence is low, you allow yourself to be average.  And I know you won’t believe this but I see intelligence.  You are so smart, but for whatever reason you aren’t smart enough to know that everyone’s brain contains strengths and weaknesses.  Stick to your strengths, continue to work on your weaknesses,  but don’t let them frustrate you.  Always remember that I am your biggest fan and that I would do anything for you.  I love you bro.

C. Neenah and Papa (More commonly known as Ron and Audrey Yardley)-  I am thankful to have you two as my grandparents.  You are the only couple in my immediate family that has maintained their marriage.  You are the only reason I believe in love, and I hope that I’ve inherited this from you two.  You both are so solid, you’ve been married for 40-some years, lived in the same house ever since you moved to Iowa, kept the same jobs, and most importantly you have ALWAYS been there for me.  My Papa is my biggest male influence, you taught me how to throw, catch, and run at a very young age.  Your intelligence and logic has rubbed off on me and I love when we share our views on the world.  You may have turned 70 this month, but we all know that age is just a number.  You’ve got to be one of the coolest 70 year olds I’ve ever met.  Neenah, where do I start?  I am the apple of your eye, and it is no secret.  You are by far the sweetest human being I have ever met.  I’ve heard you swear once (playing sequence, ha!), you are always so happy and bubbly and I can’t even picture you being angry.  I love you both so much, Mom and I couldn’t have done it without you.

D.  Jamie, Trent, Kaela, and David-  I am thankful for adding you to such a tight and small group of loved ones.  However, I wish it wouldn’t have taken me so long to accept you as family.  I was skeptical because I never thought Mom would actually find true love again.  No matter what anyone says or thinks, Jamie is great for my mom.  Everyone makes mistakes, and everyone should be given another chance.  Trent, I have grown to love you like a brother, and I hope you know that I am here for you.  You are about to embark on the journey of adulthood.  You have a good head on your shoulders, and have inherited the work ethic of your dad, and your dad’s dad.  Kaela, you have moved in and out and I think that you and I have a lot in common.  Currently, you don’t live here but like Trent I hope you know that I am here for you if you need anything.  We all love you here on 604 County Line Road, and I hope that you come back sometime soon.

3.  I am thankful for my girlfriend and her family.

Erynn Renee DeRycke-  I am thankful for finding true love.  I know I don’t tell you enough, but you are by far the most beautiful, intelligent, and loving person I’ve ever met.  We met through a tragedy- the night of Chris and Alex’s accident.  Even though I lost two friends, I truly believe they pointed me in the direction of the best thing that has ever happened to me.  You’ve stayed by my side through the most difficult years of my life.  I know the last 2 years and 10 months have been a roller coaster, but I honestly believe we weathered my storm.  I will shelter you for yours, I will never forget the love, support, and patience you have given me.  We are either complete opposites or completely identical in all entities of life, but we’ve morphed our souls into one.  I feel your pain, you feel mine, whenever you’re happy I am happy, etcetera etcetera.  No matter what our future beholds always know that you are one of my best friends, my first love, and a savior, more like an angel sent from above.  I love you with all of my heart and I hope that some day your face is the first thing that I see when I wake up.

B. Dan and Jill-  I remember when I first met you.  Erynn was 15 (turning 16) and I was 19.  I didn’t think you would allow me to date her, and was actually afraid to meet you.  I just want to thank you for always accepting me into your home.  Jill- you have always understood me, our life events are similar and honestly I love you like a mother.  Dan-  you’re always happy and always working hard, you’re like Super Dad.  I grew up without a dad, and most of the dad’s that I’ve encountered over the years haven’t really impressed me.  You’re one of the few that makes me wish I had a father.  I love the both of you and again, I can’t thank you enough for accepting me.  Your family is beautiful and some day I’d love nothing more than to be apart of something so beautiful.

C. Noah-  Dude you are growing up so fast!  Remember when we didn’t hang out or talk much?  Thankfully we broke the ice and you’re like my little brother.  I hope that you consider me the older brother that you never had.  You are so smart and not many kids your age can make me laugh like you can (what’s even funnier is that you don’t even try to make me laugh!) and if we play baseball half as much as we did last Summer, you’re going to be one hell of a ball player!  I love sharing my knowledge of baseball and playing catch with you, so never ever EVER hesitate to give me a call when you want to play some catch, or hit the ball around.  You’re an amazing young man, and I am excited to continue watching you grow.

D. Molly-  You are something else to say the least.  We are alike because we both love to be different, if that makes any sense?  Oh yeah, and we both have an attention problem- QUAIL!  I just love you and I don’t know why.  You’re one of the few people that can get under my skin and make me laugh simultaneously (simultaneously means at the same time, if you were puzzled).  Like my brother, I wish you could see your potential.  I’m not lying when I say this-  I think that you can be drop-dead gorgeous when you choose to be.  You can also be smart when you want to be, so if you could refrain (meaning don’t do, or stop) from saying that you aren’t pretty, or you aren’t smart while I’m around I would greatly appreciate it.  And if anyone besides yourself tells you that you aren’t pretty, or that you aren’t smart, they aren’t worth it.  Well I hope that you consider me the big brother you’ve never wanted, because you’re definitely the little sister I have thanked God time and time again that I don’t have.  Love you Molls, and I love how I have been completely serious throughout this entire blog post, until I started talking about you.  Keep smiling and… QUAIL!!!!! 

Rachel-  For some reason I hold a special place for you in my heart.  I talk to you like I talk to any of my other friends, and to be honest I really have no idea how old you are.  I will never forget the time that when my friend Caleb passed away and you made me a card to make me feel better.  I still have it, and whenever I’m feeling sad I look at it.  It makes me smile because when I first read that card it made me smile ear to ear for the first time after Caleb passed away.  Rachel I hope you know that you really helped me during a rough time, and that card is something that I will never forget.  You’re a very special girl with a big, big, heart and try to always follow that heart, it will take you places.

4.  Friendship

Last and not least I am thankful for friendship.  Whether we are acquaintances or the best of friends I want to thank-you for being a friend.  Thank you for being there for me, thank you for reading my blogs and letting me know how much you enjoy them.  Thank you for seeing the person that doesn’t always appear in the mirror.  I hope that maybe this will help you recognize some every day people and things that you are thankful for.  Happy Thanksgiving everybody!

Dream BigCY

Written by coreyyardley

November 26, 2010 at 1:25 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Corey~You are so good expressing your feelings and writing them! I wish I could write like you do. Keep it up! You will be an awesome writer some day! Wish we saw you more. I will pass it along to Dad your thoughts. (since he doesn’t do the computer well, he will never see it)

    Joani

    December 1, 2010 at 6:13 PM

    • I know, writing is a great way to organize and express my emotions. Hope to see you during Christmas, or even before that. We’re family, we aren’t limited to holidays in order to visit and have a few 😉

      coreyyardley

      December 6, 2010 at 9:28 PM


Leave a Reply

