Corey Yardley

Dream Big

The Iowa Valley graduating class of 2011 and myself would like your help!

leave a comment »


Hello my name is Corey Yardley and I was nominated as the commencement speaker for Iowa Valley High School’s graduating class this year. Although I’m only 22 years old my life story and writing has inspired many of the kids who attend my alma mater.
I consider most of the student body as brothers and sister’s of mine, my real brother is a sophomore so I’m close with his buddies, too.
Unfortunately there was a fight that broke out about a month ago where kids from another town came to Marengo and in that fight they used various tools like screwdrivers and wrenches and sent 5 of our boys to the E.R. My brother didn’t suffer any serious injuries but was struck once in the back of the head with a wrench. The kid was also 18 years old and my brother is a minor, 16.
I made a comment on my facebook in defense of my boys immediately once I found out. I assured that my friends and I would not allow this to happen in our town again.
Well graduation is this sunday and I was just notified that the school board is not allowing me to speak because this comment caused me to have a “negative image”. The seniors are upset and feel cheated because it’s their day and they want me to speak but the principal won’t allow it.
My plan is to deliver this speech and I know many of the seniors will be there to listen.
If there is any way you could help me out or be present that would be greatly appreciated.

Corey Yardley

Written by coreyyardley

May 18, 2011 at 11:40 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

